search logo

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching are the nation's highest honors for math and science teachers. Above, KSH science kumu Layne Richards receives his certificate as a state finalist from Hawaiian Electric Co. Director of Education and Consumer Affairs Ka'iulani de Silva, KSH Po‘o Kula (Head of School) Dr. Holoua Stender, and Hawaii DOE Superintendent Kathryn Matayoshi.

KSH kumu is a finalist for national science award

Feb. 23, 2015

Kamehameha Schools Hawai‘i High School science academy kumu Layne Richards was recently recognized as one of Hawai‘i’s best science teachers.

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) are the nation's highest honors for teachers of mathematics and science (including computer science). Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education.

Since 1983, more than 4,300 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and to their profession.

“His commitment and dedication to our students, our school, his content area, our culture, our place, and all that is embraced within the legacy of Ke Ali’i Pauahi is acknowledged and appreciated,” shared KS Hawai‘i Kula Ki‘eki‘e Po‘o Kumu (high school Principal) Lehua Veincent.

Richards and KS Hawai‘i Po‘o Kula (Head of School) Dr. Holoua Stender recently attended a special awards luncheon where the ten state finalists were acknowledged and celebrated. The National Science Foundation is soon expected to make an announcement on the finalists who will be invited to the White House to receive their awards.

2013-2014 Hawai‘i finalists include:


  • Erin Flynn, Sacred Hearts Academy
  • Kathy Lin, Highlands Intermediate
  • Stan Mesina, August Ahrens Elementary
  • Kristen Miyazono, Waiakea Intermediate
  • Layne Richards, Kamehameha Schools Hawai‘i
  • Erin Thompson, Kealakehe High


  • Wendi-Ann Tominaga, Wai‘anae Intermediate
  • Amy Yonashiro, ‘Iolani School
  • Eliza Akaha Yoshida, Pu‘u Kukui Elementary
  • Leslie Kodani, Kipapa Elementary

For more information on the PAEMST, visit Nominations for the 2015 awards are currently being accepted through April 1, 2015.

teachers, #imuakamehameha, awards, science, honors, facultystaff, ks hawaii

I Mua Kamehameha, Newsroom, Campus Programs, Hawaii

Kawaiaha‘o Plaza

567 South King St
Honolulu, HI 96813
(808) 523-6200

KS Hawai‘i

16-716 Volcano Rd
Kea‘au, HI 96749
(808) 982-0000

KS Kapālama

1887 Makuakāne St
Honolulu, HI 96817
(808) 842-8211

KS Maui

275 ‘A‘apueo Pkwy
Pukalani, HI 96768
(808) 572-3100