search logo

Cook alongside award-winning Chef Ming Tsai and his parents as they prepare Cong You Bing (scallion pancakes), a traditional Chinese dim sum flatbread dish with two specialty sauces. KS staffers, students and alumni will receive free registration and a discount on a meal kit for the virtual cooking class. KS is a sponsor of the event themed, “Generational Cooking with Ming Tsai.”

Cook with Ming Tsai and his mākua as part of the HFWF

Apr. 15, 2021

KS staffers, students and alumni will receive free registration and a discount on a meal kit for a virtual cooking class with award-winning culinary personality Ming Tsai. KS is a sponsor of the Hawaii Food and Wine Festival event themed, “Generational Cooking with Ming Tsai.”

You and your ‘ohana are invited to join Chef Tsai in his virtual kitchen for a hands-on cooking lesson. Tsai believes that family-style meals are inherent in culture, heritage and our natural environment, even if family is scattered across the world. He credits his love of food to his parents, who now reside in Honolulu, Hawai‘i, and will participate in Generational Cooking with their son through this virtual event.

For this virtual event, families are encouraged to join together safely, or remotely via Zoom, to cook alongside Tsai on Zoom who will provide step-by-step instructions on how to make Cong You Bing — a traditional Chinese dim sum flatbread dish also referred to as scallion pancakes, which Tsai learned to make from his mother — with with two specialty sauces, a dim sum dipper and pineapple salsa.
 

REGISTER TODAY!

WHAT:
Hawai‘i Food and Wine Festival
Generational Cooking with Ming Tsai

WHEN:
Sunday, April 25, 2021
Time: 3:00 P.M. HST (6:00 P.M. PT / 7:00 P.M. MT / 8:00 P.M. CT / 9:00 P.M. ET)

FORMAT:
Virtual cooking class on Zoom

REGISTRATION:
Visit the Hawai‘i Food and Wine Festival website to register for free. Use the promo code HFWFKS_042521 for $25 off a $75 all-inclusive meal kit for use during the cooking class. The kit features full-sized ingredients and feeds four. Complimentary kit delivery is included for O‘ahu residents ($10 value).

Members of the KS ‘ohana can join the event without the meal kit for free, using the same KS code. A full list of ingredients will be shared with registered ticket holders to purchase ahead of time and participate live.

The registration deadline is Wednesday, April 21, 2021
 
Happy cooking!



TAGS:
food and wine festival

CATEGORIES:
Regions, Themes, Culture, Community, Newsroom, Department News, LAD News

Kawaiaha‘o Plaza

567 South King St
Honolulu, HI 96813
(808) 523-6200

KS Hawai‘i

16-716 Volcano Rd
Kea‘au, HI 96749
(808) 982-0000

KS Kapālama

1887 Makuakāne St
Honolulu, HI 96817
(808) 842-8211

KS Maui

275 ‘A‘apueo Pkwy
Pukalani, HI 96768
(808) 572-3100